Stephen Dlamini was born in 30 November 1913 in Natal (KwaZulu-Natal). As a factory worker, Dlamini became a trade union member and rose thr... read more
John Mowbray Didcott was born on 14 August 1931, Durban, Natal.  After matriculating at Hilton College, outside Pietermaritzburg, Natal... read more
Oscar Dhlomo was born on 28 December 1943 at Putellos, Umbumbulu, about 30 kilometers south east of Durban, the fifth of the 11 children of... read more
Chief Albert John Mvumbi Luthuli, Africa’s first Nobel Peace Prize Laureate in 1960, was President-General of the African National Congress... read more
Helen Elizabeth Martins was born on 23 December 1897 in the Karoo village of Nieu Bethesda in the Eastern Cape. She was the youngest of six... read more
  Christiaan de Wet was born at Leeuwkop near Smithfield, Orange Free State, on 7 October 1854. He received little formal education, sp... read more
Zac de Beer was born on 11 October 1928. He was the second of four children of Jean Isobel and Zacharias Johannes de Beer, a medical doctor.... read more
Kobie Coetsee was born on 19 April 1931 in Ladybrand in the Orange Free State. His father, Johannes, was a printer, and had only one child w... read more
Edwin Cameron was born on 15 February 1953 in Pretoria. He completed his schooling at Pretoria Boys’ High School and thanks to an Anglo-Amer... read more
James Arthur Calata was born into a poor farming family at Debe Nek near King Williamstown. His father James Calata was a Presbyterian and h... read more
Butshingi was born in Engcobo, Transkei on 28 February 1906, the second child of Valelo James Butshingi and Angeline Nokwenjenje (nee Thuswa... read more
Rowley Israel Arenstein was born in 1919. Arenstein was a prominent Durban attorney and a leader of the Congress of Democrats (COD). He... read more