Parliament passes legislation separating the people of South Africa into four distinct races


National Party Logo Source:

Tuesday, 13 June 1950

The National Assembly voted in favour of the separation of  the people of South Africa into four distinct races (White, Black, Coloured, and Indian) through the Population Registration Act No. 30 of 1950. It further voted to divide South Africa into separate areas (for the exclusive use of each race) through the Group Areas Act No. 41 of 1950. Both these Acts commenced on 7 July, 1950. On 20 February, 1950 the Population Registration Act was read for the first time in Parliament. Subsequently, it became the cornerstone of the Apartheid policy. An office was set up to oversee the classification process.

• South African History Online, ‘The Population Registration Bill is read for the first time’, [online], available at (Accessed: 17 May 2013)
• Boddy-Evans, A. ‘This Day in African History: 13 May’, from About African History, [online], available at (Accessed: 17 May 2013)

Last updated : 12-Jun-2015

This article was produced by South African History Online on 07-Jun-2013

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.

Make a donation here and send us a message of support.