Manuel Pinto da Costa becomes the president


Manuel Pinto da Costa

Saturday, 12 July 1975

After a brief period of transitional government Dr Manuel Pinto da Costa, the leader of the Committee for the Liberation of São Tomé and PrÁ­ncipe(CLSTP) became the first president of the newly independent Democratic Republic of São Tomé and PrÁ­ncipe. Two islands in the Gulf of Guinea, straddling the Equator, west of Gabon, formed the country. In 1972, the CLSTP changed its name to MLSTP. During the elections MLSTP won all 16 seats in the National Assembly.

The constitution, which was promulgated on December 12, 1975, effectively vested absolute power in the President and the MLSTP became the nations' sole legal political party. Dr Manuel held the position until 1991, when his party suffered defeat in the first democratic election.

• Manuel Pinto da Costa: website:
• This week in African history: website:

Last updated : 11-Jul-2013

This article was produced by South African History Online on 16-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Dear friends of SAHO

South African History Online (SAHO) needs your support.

SAHO is one of the most visited websites in South Africa with over 6 million unique users a year. Our goal is to fulfill our mandate and continue to build, and make accessible, a new people’s history of South Africa and Africa.

Please help us deliver this by contributing upwards of $1.00 a month for the next 12 months.

Make a donation here and send us a message of support.