Vhembe District Municipality is a second-order administrative division and is located in Limpopo, South Africa, with a population of 1240035 habitants. The estimate terrain elevation above seal level is 1206 metres. Vhembe is situated in the Northern part of Limpopo Province, sharing borders with Zimbabwe in the north, Mozambique through Kruger National Park in the east and Botswana in the north west.
Vhembe District Municipality with its head quarters in Thohoyandou was established in 2000 through the process of transformation of Local Government. It was established in terms of Municipal Structures Act 117 of 1998 as a demarcated sphere of governance. It is composed of four local municipalities, namely; Makhado, Musina,Thulamela and Mutale. It covers 21 407 km2 and has population of over 1.1 million living in 274 480 households. There are 8 hospitals situated all across the district. Vhembe is a Venda name for what is also known as the Limpopo River.
-22° 51' 55.5183", 30° 25' 53.0276"