17 May 1971
The first South African State President C.R. Swart opens Melrose House in Pretoria as a museum. The House was built in 1866 by George Jesse Heyns a Pretoria businessman. It was here that the Peace Treaty of Vereeniging was signed on Saturday 31 May 1902, effectively ending the Second Anglo- Boer War or Second South African War.

Wallis, F. (2000). Nuusdagboek: feite en fratse oor 1000 jaar. Kaapstad: Human & Rousseau.|Melrose house., 'Melrose house visitation and facilities', from Tshwane Arts, Culture & Heritage, [online], Available at https://www.tshwane.gov.za/Services/ArtsCultureandHeritage/Melrose%20House/Pages/default.aspx [Accessed on 29 May 2014]