The house was originally known as Oosterzee and was built by PAM Cloete shortly after the South African War. Shortly thereafter it was sold to an American, Hugh Tevis, who spent approximately £237000 on converting their existing building to a neo-Tudor mansion. From 1951 to 1976 it served as a private preparatory school for boys and in 1982 the building was restored by the Seardel Investment Corporation as their corporate headquarters. It was declared a National Monument under old NMC legislation on 27 December 1985. Monterey Nursery School opened its doors in January 1972 in Clayton House, Klaassens Road, Wynberg and was formed as part of Monterey Preparatory School. In the last quarter of 1978, Monterey Pre-Primary School, as the School was now known, relocated to the Old Westcott Primary School premises, Main Road, Diep River. The School leased this beautiful old School building with the bell tower and after much hard work and transformation, opened its doors. The momentous task of excavating the grounds to create the hills and tunnels was huge. The School continued at these premises for the next 30years.

New premises needed to be found for the start of the 2009 school year. Monterey Pre-Primary relocated to the Norman Henshilwood School Campus in Constantia. Over the years additional classrooms and facilities have been added to this picturesque and spacious campus.
The school has, during its years of existence, seen many children benefit from its educational expertise and has provided excellent pre-service and in-service practice teaching experience to scores of Pre-Primary school teachers.
-34° 10.6619", 18° 27' 18.1215"