The Inxuba Yethemba Local Municipality is a Category B Municipality situated in the Chris Hani District in the Eastern Cape Province. It is approximately 240 km North of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Municipality. It is one of six Municipalities in the District, making up a third of its Geographical Area. Cradock consists of the Suburb of Cradock, and the Lingelihle and Michausdal Communities, whilst Middelburg has the Suburb of Middelburg, with the Kwanonzame Lusaka and Midros Communities. The two Urban centres of Cradock and Middelburg are fairly similar, with well-developed CBDs and fair infrastructure. (A lot still needs to be done in the former previously disadvantaged communities.)
The Rural Areas of both Towns are mostly Commercial Farms, with small Settlements in the Rural Areas of Fish River Mortimer and Rosmead. The N 10 National Road, which is the vital economic link between Port Elizabeth and the North, runs through Cradock and skirts Middelburg.

26° 3', -32° 15'