Togo is a country of western Africa. Lomé, the capital, is situated in the south-west of the Country and is the largest city and port.

Until 1884, what is now Togo was an intermediate zone between the States of Asante and Dahomey, and its various ethnic groups lived in general isolation from each other. In 1884 it had became part of the Togoland German protectorate, which was occupied by British and French forces in 1914. In 1922 the League of Nations then; assigned eastern Togoland to France and the western portion to Britain. In 1946 the British and French governments placed the territories under United Nations. Ten years later British Togoland was incorporated into the Gold Coast, and French Togoland became an autonomous republic within the French Union. Togo gained independence in 1960.

The economy rests largely on agriculture, although the Country’s extensive phosphate reserves are very significant.

-1° 24' 43.2", 8° 36' 10.8"