15 May 1902
 After the Second Anglo-Boer War (South African War), which had started on 11 October 1899, there were attempts to reach peace. On 15 May 1902, thirty delegates from each republic, Transvaal and Orange Free State attended the Peace Conference, which was held in Vereeniging. The delegates were elected by the commandos after two republic leaders Gen. L. Botha and M.T Steyn held meetings with them in their respective territories. The 60 Boer representatives converged at Vereeniging Conference to discuss their independent status. They elected General C.F Beyers as chairman. The discussions were recorded under the supervision of two secretaries for the republics Rev. J. D. Kestell and D. E. van Velden. During the Conference, President M.T Steyn of Orange Free State got ill and was moved to the Krugersdorp Hospital for medical attention. General C.R. de Wet represented him until the peace was signed in Pretoria on 31 May 1902. The delegates at conference appointed five members commission consisting of Gens, Louis Botha, C.R de Wet, J.H. de la Rey, J.B. Hertzog and J.C Smuts to negotiate with British representatives Lord Kitchner and Alfred Milner in Pretoria from 19 May onwards. After long discussions the delegates conceded to the British proposal to relinquish their independence and become British colonies with 54 votes to 6. The peace was then signed on 31 May 1902 in Melrose House, Pretoria.  

Potgieter, D.J. et al. (eds). Vol 1(1970). Standard Encyclopaedia of Southern Africa. Cape Town: NASOU.P 396|

Potgieter, D.J. et al. (eds). Vol 11(1970). Standard Encyclopaedia of Southern Africa. Cape Town: NASOU.P 210.