Southern African Development Community (SADC) was established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), adopting its current name during Windhoek summit meeting in 17 August 1992. The primary focus was economic integration of the region. Before 1992, the aim of SADCC was to forge close economic co-operation with Southern African countries excluding South Africa. The aim was to bolster the economy of South Africa's neighbour to reduce their dependence on the South African economy. SADCC focused on the development of key sectors like transport and communications, energy, mining, and industrial production. From 1992 when the organisation became SADC its aims broadened to establish an open economy based on equality, mutual benefit and balanced development; to break down tariff barriers; to promote trade exchanges and mutual investment; to realise free movement of goods, personnel and labour service; to achieve the unification of tariffs and currencies gradually in the Community, and the establishment of free trade zone by 2000.

The initial member states are Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. South Africa became a member after democratisation. SADC has grown from a small membership of 11 to 14 countries.

Read about the group of southern African states called the Frontline States.

Headquarters are in Gaborone, Botswana

SADC Secretariat

Private Bag 0095



Telephone: 00-267-351863

Fax: 00-267-372848/581070


Globalization and Workers' Rights, Southern African Development Community - History, (online), available at [Accessed 6 April 2010]

Sources in Our Archive

Collections in the Archives