President Cyril Ramaphosa announced the new members of the National Executive, for the seventh administration, which includes all the parties to the Government of National Unity (GNU), on 30 June 2024. This follows the national and provincial elections held on 29 May 2024.

The establishment of the GNU in its current form is unprecedented in the history of South Africa’s democracy.  The GNU brings together parties from across the political spectrum with a mandate to deliver to the people of South Africa.  The partnership between the GNU parties is guided by a Statement of Intent, which outlines fundamental principles and a minimum programme of priorities to which the parties swear to adhere.

The eleven parties to the GNU include the African National Congress (ANC), Democratic Alliance (DA), Patriotic Alliance (PA), Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), Good Party, Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC), Freedom Front Plus (FF+), United Democratic Movement (UDM), Al Jama-ah, Rise Mzansi and the United Africans Transformation. 

On 14 June 2024, the National Assembly elected the President and Ramaphosa was inaugurated on 19 June 2024.  

President Cyril Ramaphosa expanded his national cabinet with 32 Ministers and 43 Deputy Ministers,  creating two new ministries, and appointed 16 new cabinet ministers, 10 of which are from outside his ANC. Of his new cabinet, the ANC holds 21 portfolios; the DA six; IFP two; with one ministry each to the PA; FF+ and GOOD.

National Executive of the Government of National Unity  - South Africa

Collections in the Archives